TheMcRibb. Sage Advice D&D Questions on Dungeons & Dragons answered by designers . Top Posts. The only true amendments are in the errata Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk . That could only mean it is no longer a magical effect because the spell has ended. Does that mean you also can’t concentrate on them? Sage Advice Compendium Questions and answers about the rules of fifth edition Dungeons & Dragons appear in Sage Advice, a monthly column on the D&D website (dnd.wizards.com ). Concentration and polymorph Hey guys, i have seen threads where polymorph is thoroughly discussed, but a heated debate has risen in our table and i wanted your input. If you want to dispel it, you have an hour, you want to break concentration, you have an hour, after an hour, you're out of luck. View User Profile Send Message Posted Sep 25, 2018. What might be a reasonable bonus to have when polymorphing into a beast that does melee combat? Destructive Wrath is meant to maximize lightning and thunder damage only. When a cleric uses the Destructive Wrath feature, does it maximize all damage getting rolled, as long as some of it is lightning or thunder? Sometimes it also provides reference documents to help your D&D game run more smoothly. Elemental Adept "you can … Yes the Druid can cast polymorph on himself and is then subject to Concentration checks when he takes damage - DC of the check being 10 or half the damage total, which ever is higher. Would throwing an improvised weapon, like table leg, use Str or Dex for the attack roll? Does combat in D&D start with rolling initiative? 5 foot-radius sphere centered on a point within range, which one is correct? Does Sharpshooter feat work with daggers. I know a lot of people say "don't compare your game to Critical Role" and I get that; My … I actually weaponized polymorph with this to 1-shot a troll at level 7. The polymorph spell doesn’t interrupt the concentration of its target. share. dragon talk welcome tony . @JeremyECrawford went back and re-listened to the polymorph Sage Advice and I have a follow up question: once a true polymorph spell is made permanent from concentrating for the full duration, does reducing that creature to 0hp still cause them to revert to their original form? Search for answers. Adventurer; Join Date: 4/22/2018 Posts: 1 Member Details #2 TheMcRibb. Sage Advice : Spellcasting Can a spellcaster cast spells off-target to minimize damage to party members from a spell like shatter ? Sage Advice Acquisitions Incorporated Eberron: Rising from the Last War ... Just to make it clear, if you lose concentration within the 1 hour duration, the target doesn't turn back until the hour is up? If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or its level, if the target doesn’t have a challenge rating). Eldritch Blast can't cast on objects, how do you justify this with flavour? The DM did 10d10 crushing damage and burst the pipe. Widgets. Sage Advice D&D Questions on Dungeons & Dragons answered by designers. It says that you no longer control the creature once it becomes permanent. Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden is full of terrifying secrets, some of which lie buried under ice and snow. Widgets. True Polymorph does not. Skip to content. The document’s version number changes when sub-stantive additions or revisions have been made to the text. Magic Missile: Do you roll the same d4 for all darts? Do vampire bites work on Warforged? When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip). However in Dragon 124’s Sage Advice (page 16) we have: Polymorph into Giant Ape, next turn make two fist attacks as the ape, revert form by breaking concentration (which can be broken at ANY time with no action required), then cast healing word with my wizard/cleric. If that bothers you, then tabletop gaming probably isn't for you. By Jeremy Crawford. Jeremy Crawford explains the differences between the Polymorph and other shapeshifting spells. June 7, 2016 Zoltar Leave a comment @Trogaf if I have polymorth cast upon me by a friend, is it my concentration, their concenteatration or both of our ours that matter? There are lots of video games that exist that handle everything for you so you don't need a DM making decisions. Sage Advice Compendium. Now clearly there isn't any excess hit points to carry over, so the creature would return with the number of hit points it had when it was transformed. @ktkenshinxPolymorph says you can’t cast spells while in beast form. you can still concentrate, — Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) October 21, 2014. The Sage Advice Compendium is the official D&D rules FAQ, gathering D&D rules questions and providing answers to them. Are Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade compatible with extra attack? One Page Dungeon! Need short adventure? Sage Advice D&D Questions on Dungeons & Dragons answered by designers. Does Sharpshooter feat work with daggers. Sage Advice Today at 9:31 PM If my Green-Flame Blade is Counterspelled, do I still get to make a ... normal melee attack #dnd #Dungeonsanddragons #SageAdvice #greenflameblade See More The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is … And that is actually True Polymorph. MindWandererB. Can a fighter have two fighting styles active at once? @yr43lHey, if a caster polymorphs himself, and then takes damage in the polymorphed form, does he need a concentration check? Skip to content. I refer to this: Quote: Q: Dear Sage I was wondering if a subject of a successful flesh to stone spell (or other petrifying abilities) would then be affected by soften earth and stone? Today we’re releasing an update to the... More info. @ktkenshinxPolymorph says you can’t cast spells while in beast form. I take all sage advice with a heap of salt - especially as that link also says that Mike Mearls and Jeremy Crawford disagree on that point. Polymorph fits these requirements quite nicely. [Music] everyone. Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden is full of terrifying secrets, some of which lie buried under ice and snow; Is Monk's Diamond Soul feature intended to grant proficiency in Death saves? to have you here as i was saying before. Skip to content. You have an hour to stop the caster and reverse the effects, that's it. The spellcaster chooses where to place the point of origin of a spell like shatter and may, therefore, choose a position that is advantageous to allies. Sage Advice D&D Questions on Dungeons & Dragons answered by designers. This spell instantly transports you and up to eight willing creatures of your choice that you can see within range, or a single object that you can see within range, to a destination you select. Top Posts. This sounds fine logistically, but I wanted to know other peoples thoughts. Ranger Beast Master: 'Tasha's Cauldron of Everything' Official Fix! This thread is about a much lower level usage. For the barbarian’s Reckless Attack, do you grant advantage to all enemies, or only to the target of your attack?If you use the barbarian’s Reckless Attack, all attack rolls have advantage against you until the start of your next turn. Sage Advice is a monthly column that gives official clarifications of D&D rules. This month, we dip into my Twitter archive and add a bunch of questions and answers from it to the Sage Advice Compendium. If you target an object, it must be able to fit entirely inside a 10-foot cube, and it can't be held or carried by an unwilling creature. let us welcome tony deter lizzie two. Sage advice means nothing. Search for answers. Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden is full of terrifying secrets, some of which lie buried under ice and snow. Sage Advice Compendium The Sage Advice Compendium collects questions and an-swers about the rules of Dungeons & Dragons (fifth edi-tion). Search for answers . --Ethan A: No. — Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) January 29, 2016. The newest material is preceded by the tag “[NEW]”. — Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) October 21, 2014. I've read the Polymorph and Concentration thread but it was about turning people into dragons. When under the effects of a Polymorph spell and you take damage I assume you have to make a concentration check to stay in your form, do you retain any bonuses you get from Feats? The object is now a creature, and … there are. Like I said - the placement of that sentence saying it can't effect a 0hp creature is referring to the initial casting. This is an unofficial D&D site made by Zoltar to collect designer tweets and help players of the best game ever created. Top Posts. Polymorph states "If [a creature] reverts as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to its normal form."